‘Tiny’ Act of Selfishness

Today I watched in shock as cars got held up in traffic jam because of a ‘tiny’ act of selfishness. Someone wanted to park in an accessible place for dashing in and out of a supermarket. This should not have been a problem for anyone if all traffic continued flowing freely. That was not the outcome however. I watched in wonder as 3 different roads were lined up with cars because of this very ‘tiny’ act of selfishness.

As I watched this, I was left wondering. How many times have I done something for my convenience knowing it is wrong? How many times have I counted the cost before I do that ‘tiny’ act of selfishness? How many times have I thought of anyone but me as I go about my business?

So, the year is ending and time for making resolutions is once again here. I am starting to think that maybe I will make some resolutions that do not benefit only me but my neighbour too. I am starting to think that maybe I will think about something more than I need to make more money, lose more weight, make more friends or even become more famous. I think that maybe,this coming year I will write resolutions that deal with my ‘tiny’ acts of selfishness.

Maybe just maybe, a life will be changed by this resolution of mine.

2012, a year for me to kill these ‘tiny’ acts of selfishness
2012, a year for me to think past more for me to more for others

Leave a comment